Fortnum & Mason
Food & Drink Awards 2014

“2013 was a terrific success and this year’s quality and breadth of entries didn’t fail to impress. Britain has some of the best food and drink in the world and, without doubt, the best journalists and broadcasters publicising it.”

Ewan Venters

CEO, Fortnum & Mason and Panel Chairman

About the Awards

Now in their second year, the Awards celebrate the very best in writing, publishing and broadcasting on food and drink.

Over 400 entries across 12 categories were received and judged by an expert panel (full details below), led by Ewan Venters, CEO of Fortnum & Mason.

The TV Personality of the Year is chosen by the public.

The Awards were presented by Claudia Winkleman at the flagship store in Piccadilly. Winners received a unique, gold plated Fortnum & Mason trophy, a magnum of Fortnum & Mason Vintage Champagne and an iconic hamper.


The judges seek to reward inspirational, educational and entertaining work which contributes to the appreciation of good food and drink.

Ewan Venters

CEO Fortnum & Mason and
Panel Chairman

Matthew Fort

Food Writer, Author and Judge on Great British Menu

Anthony Rose

Wine Correspondent of
The Independent and Contributor to

Jamie Goode

Wine Correspondent of the
Sunday Express and Author of

Valentine Warner

Cook, Author and Broadcaster

Sheila Dillon

Presenter of The Food Programme, BBC Radio 4

Victoria Moore

Wine Correspondent of
The Daily Telegraph


Food Book

The Modern Peasant

by Jojo Tulloh (Chatto & Windus)

Drink Book

World’s Best Cider

by Pete Brown & Bill Bradshaw (Jacqui Small)

Food Writer

Tim Hayward

for work in FT Weekend Magazine

Drink Writer

Nina Caplan

for work in the New Statesman

Online Food Writer

Kerstin Rodgers

for work on

Online Drink Writer

Tim Atkin

for work on

Cookery Writer

Rose Prince

for work in the Telegraph magazine

Restaurant Writer

Marina O’Loughlin

for work in the Guardian Weekend Magazine

Online Restaurant Writer

Chris Pople

for work on


BBC Radio 4, The Food Programme


Victoria Wood’s Nice Cup Of Tea

produced by Keo Films


Romas Foord

for work in Historic Heston (Bloomsbury)

Judges' Choice

TV Personality of the Year

The winner of Fortnum's classic, luxury hamper worth £500 is: Chloe Metcalf



General Enquiries:

Lindsay Stewart

Tel: 07730 565320


Media Enquiries:

Dan Turner, Sophia Boudjemaa or Vincent Nuzzolese

Tel: 020 7439 8485



Download Logo 2014Download Winner Logo 2014

Terms and conditions

The promoter is Fortnum & Mason, 181 Piccadilly, W1A 1ER

Fortnum & Mason reserves the right to cancel or amend the competition or the rules at its sole discretion and without notice

The competition is open to UK and Republic of Ireland residents only

Participating entrants must be 18 years or over

The competition is limited to one entry per person

The prize is subject to availability. The promoter reserves the right to provide a similar prize of equal or greater value. There is no cash alternative and the prize is non-transferable and non refundable

The promoter is not responsible for lost or late entries due to technical difficulties or otherwise

Voting closes on 31st March 2014. One lucky winner will be selected at random on the 7th April 2014 from the eligible entries. The decision of the promoter is final.

Entrants confirm that they have read and agree to be bound to by the Terms & Conditions

Please check your email

Thank you for your vote.

Please check your email inbox to confirm your email address is valid.


Thank you

Thank you, your vote is now confirmed.